This Submissions Tool Led to Publication in 23 Magazines

It involves a simple index card.

Colleen Wright
4 min readFeb 1, 2021
Author’s photo.

Despite following writing and submissions advice to the letter, investing in courses and even a writing degree, the acceptances came in dribs and drabs. When my mentor saw how discouraged I was, she shared a small submissions trick she’d been using for several years that had helped her reach her own monthly publication goals.

After hearing how it worked, I realized that I didn’t need to learn or “know” anything more. My writing skills and knowledge weren’t the problem. That day I went home and completely changed my submissions approach. It involved one index card and a completely new strategy.

Why common writing & submissions advice isn’t enough.

You can accumulate all of the talent and pitching skills in the world, but if you freeze up before or after submitting a piece, it’s going to slow your progress. For many writers I know (ahem), a big obstacle to submitting isn’t the know-how: it’s pushing past the fear of rejection and consistently submitting enough work.

For a long time, I tried pushing through the fear by focusing on where I wanted to go: publication in a national magazine. I’d focus on that in order to work up the courage to hit “send”. The…

--

--

Colleen Wright

Lessons from the road less traveled. Creative thinker. Optimist.